Beneath the Surface: Summer Library Program 2013

Calling All Teens! The Summer Library Program starts June 3.Read Cool Books, Win Great Prizes. What's Not to Love?

You can register at any library location.

Not sure how the program works? This movie should help! 

 

Remember...

  • Read 500 pages, get a $5 gift card to Barnes and Noble.
  • Read 1000 pages, get an $8 gift card to Target

 

Make It This Summer @ Your Library! 

 

  And don't miss these great programs for teens...

 

 

 

Crazy Science

At this program you'll make some things to take home and also watch our resident scientists wow you with their chemical creations. Concoct your own magnetic silly putty and test which candy color packs the most power. Who knew science could be so much fun

Tue. June 11 Main Library  6:30 PM
Tue. June 18 Crestview Branch Noon
Tue. June 25 Ontario Branch 6 PM
Mon. July 1 Bellville Branch 6 PM
Thu. July 11 Lexington Branch 6 PM
Mon. July 15 Madison Branch 2 PM
Wed. July 17 Lucas Branch 3 PM
Tue. July 23 Plymouth Branch 6 PM


Hippie Swirls

We'll show you how to combine water and special glittery paints into a groovy, low-tech lava lamp. Drop in some beads and trinkets, whirl it around and see what lies beneath the surface. 

Thu. July 23 Lexington Branch 5:30-7 PM (Drop-In)
Wed.June 19 Lucas Branch 3 PM
Tue. June 25 Main Library 5:30-7:30 PM (Drop-In)
Thu. June 27 Butler Branch 5:30-7:30 PM (Drop-In) 
Tue. July 9 Ontario Branch 5-7:30 PM (Drop-In)  


Rock Monsters

Choose your favorite colors from our pre-painted stones, glue on some googly eyes, draw some crazy teeth and, voila, your own funky little monsters. Add a magnet to the back and you'll be "rockin" a pretty cool decoration for your locker or fridge.

Mon. June 10 Madison Branch  2-4 (Drop-In)
Wed. June 12 Plymouth Branch 1-4 PM (Drop-In)
Mon. June 17 Bellville Branch 5-7 PM (Drop-In)
Thu. June 20 Lexington Branch 5:30-7 PM (Drop-In)
Tue. June 25 Crestview Branch 1-8 PM (Drop-In)
Thu. June 9 Main Library 5:30-7 PM (Drop-In)
Thu. July 11 Butler Branch 5:30-7:30 PM (Drop-In)
Tue. July 16 Ontario Branch 5-7:30 PM (Drop-In)
Wed. July 24 Lucas Branch 3 PM  


Secret Hollow Book

Come to this program, and we'll show you how a book can be recycled into a secret hiding spot for your keepsakes and valuables As if we need another reason to love books.

Tue. June 11 Crestview Branch Noon
Mon. June 17 Madison Branch 2 PM
Thu. June 20 Butler Branch 6 PM
Tue. June 25 Plymouth Branch 6 PM
Wed. July 10 Lucas Branch 3 PM
Tue. July 16 Main Library 6:30 PM
Mon. July 22 Bellville Branch 6 PM
Thu. July 25 Lexington Branch 6 PM


Seed Bombs

Make a box out of plantable paper, fill it with our secret mixture and take home a potential mini garden. Plant this in a sunny place and get ready for an explosion of color.  

Wed. June 12 Lucas Branch 3 PM
Tue. June 18 Ontario Branch 6 PM
Mon. June 24 Madison Branch 2 PM
Thu. June 27 Lexington Branch 6 PM
Wed. July 10 Plymouth Branch 1-4 PM (Drop-In)
Tue. July 16 Crestview Branch Noon


Watermark T-Shirts

Bring a clean, solid white t-shirt and we'll show you how to turn it into a wearable canvas for your favorite saying, poem or song lyrics. You create the masterpiece and we'll drop it in your chosen color of dye. Pick it up a few days later, wash and wear. 

Mon. June 10 Bellville Branch 6 PM
Thu. June 13 Butler Branch 6 PM
Tue. June 18 Main Library 6:30 PM
Wed. June 26 Lucas Branch 3 PM
Mon. July 8 Madison Branch 2 PM
Thu. July 18 Lexington Branch 6 PM 

: : :
Days Hours Minutes Seconds
Teen Poll

Which Book Series is Your Favorite?

Harry Potter
Divergent
The Mortal Instruments
Heroes of Olympus
Pretty Little Liars
Twilight
See Current Results »

Ohio Web Design by Spire Advertising